Tags

, , , , , ,

16458156936_c8f3b5bacd_k

Chocolate Chip Strawberry Breakfast

It all started when my running partner was running late for our rendezvous in Bethesda.

With 15 minutes of spare time on my hands, I wandered through the Barnes and Noble bookstore. With no particular agenda (other than to stay warm for 15 minutes), I pretended to be a customer. Meandering along shelves of books, and stopping now and then for some pretend interest. And then I stopped cold in my tracks.

There is was. A book with a photo of healthy vegetables on the front and a title that was calling my name. “Paleo for Beginners”. And if that wasn’t enough – it opened directly to page 95. A recipe for Chocolate Chip Strawberry Muffins.  I suddenly needed to “go Paleo”.  Sold.

Yes, there are hundreds of recipes in this Paleo book – but for some reason, the book only opens to page 95.   And while I highly doubt that my “caveman ancestors” made Chocolate Chip Strawberry Muffins — I would do my best to do them proud.

The recipe states that the muffins are similar to baked products in high end coffee shops. And – they are gluten free – and contain ingredients from all the major food groups – plus the chocolate food group (my personal favorite).

Here is the recipe:
Grease a muffin pan (or loaf pan if you don’t own one of these) with coconut oil.  OK OK I improvised with the loaf pan!

Mix together dry ingredients:
2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup mini dark chocolate chips
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of sea salt

Mix together wet stuff:
3 large eggs (I used the organic cage free version just because I like the idea that chickens have a good life running too!)
1/4 cup maple syrup or honey
2 tablespoons coconut oil melted
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup fresh sliced strawberries

Now combine everything – and put it in your pan. Heat oven to 325 degrees. For muffins bake for 25 minutes…or loaf pan add another 15 minutes.

Indulge! Super moist…tastes decadent and life is good when there is chocolate for breakfast. Wait an hour then go running.